Oatmeal Obsession

I am obsessed with oatmeal. I love almost all breakfast foods and could probably live the happiest life of them all if I was restricted to breakfast for the rest of my life. But oatmeal specifically has a special place in my heart.

Banana Nut Bread Oatmeal

– 1 c of water

– 1/3 c of Steel Cut Oats

– 1/2 of a medium banana

– 1 T of ground flax seeds

– 1 tsp of cinnamon

– 1/4 c of egg whites

– 1 tsp of Maple Extract

– Stevia to taste

– 1 T of your favorite nutter butter

– 1/4 c of blueberries

Directions:

Bring water to a boil. Add in oats, banana, ground flax seeds, and cinnamon. Reduce heat and allow the oats to cook. Remove the pot from the heat and allow to sit for 1-2 minutes. Add egg whites and stir so that the whites are blended. They should not cook. Return to low heat for 5 minutes. Add maple extract and stevia.

Poor in a bowl and enjoy.

banana bread oatmeal 2

I usually top mine with some sort of nutter butter and blueberries but you can let your imagination run wild. This usually holds me over for at least 3 hours, which is important because I am a very cranky person when I am hungry and have no access to snacks.

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Obsession

Leave a Reply

